Bootcamp Reboot into Mac OS X & reboot into Windows toggles do not work

Joined
Nov 9, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
I have a Mac Pro 5,1 and for some reason I am unable to reboot into Windows 10 when I have it selected in the System Preferences pane as the startup disk. When I do that I get a flashing cursor or I get a message on the screen saying there is no bootable media or a message like that. And when I select "reboot into OS X" or select OS X as the startup disk in Windows it does nothing and boots to windows. The only way for me to switch is to use the option key. Anybody have any ideas on how I can fix this? I already updated the boot camp utility in windows to 6.1 but it didn't work. I initially had problems in the start where Windows detects GPT disk as MBR in EFI boot so I had to follow this guide to fix that but I'm not sure if that affected my install.
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
11,083
Reaction score
490
Hello,
  • Which exact model - Mac Pro (Mid 2010) or Mac Pro (Mid 2012)?
  • Which version of OS X/macOS?
  • Are you using something like rEFIt?
Yes, it sounds like it may be related to the steps in the linked article. I don't have much experience with Windows running in Boot Camp, so hopefully another member will chime in.

C
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2021
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Hello,
  • Which exact model - Mac Pro (Mid 2010) or Mac Pro (Mid 2012)?
  • Which version of OS X/macOS?
  • Are you using something like rEFIt?
Yes, it sounds like it may be related to the steps in the linked article. I don't have much experience with Windows running in Boot Camp, so hopefully another member will chime in.

C
2010 Mac Pro on 10.13 High Sierra. I am not using reEFI I’m just using the stock boot camp installer and partitions it gave me.
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
11,083
Reaction score
490
Yes, it may work, but not officially. I know there are a lot of workarounds on the Internet for various things like this, but I don't have experience with them.

Hopefully someone else that has experience with this will chime in. Sorry I don't have a better answer for you.

C
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top