Backup....online versus external hard drive?

Reaction score
Hi,
I recently posted question re music CDs failing to play in my mac mini. Version 10.6.8. I received helpful replies for which I'm thankful. Now I must confess...... I have procrastinated (very unwise of me) about backing up my files. So that's my priority now.

I've read reviews re online versus hard drive backup, but I would appreciate advice from the forum. I don't know if forum policies allow you to make a recommendation for a specific company? If not, just your opinion re. online versus external hard drive would be greatly appreciated! I am not very tech savvy, so I'll need a system that's simple. Thanks so much!

Reaction score
I'm a big fan of TimeMachine and TimeCapsule or a large external drive. Its fast its seem less and fully automatic and happens hourly. I have this on my "work" Mac.

On my "media" Mac which only changes weekly as I get more music or movies, I have a second drive the same size and clone it on Wednesday night using Carbon Copy Cloner.

I'd like to turn on iTunes Music Match, but I can quickly load up my iPod or iPad via iTunes and re-downloading my media seems like a pain. As to using any other internet service, you still have the Time and Broadband costs, down where I live it would truly take months to put my library in the cloud. So I can't comment.

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
I don't have any Mac devices besides my iMac so iCloud isn't much use to me.