App Verification

Reaction score
I'm new to Mac, being a long-time Windows user. Last year I purchased 'Scrivener' from the App Store and shortly thereafter reformatted my hard drive to clean it up. Now whenever I launch the Scrivener app it has to verify it online. Whenever the power or internet is out and I launch the app the popup says the app was purchased on another computer and to enter the Apple ID and password to verify, which can't be done without a network connection. How can I convince my Mac that it's still the same computer? At worst can I buy the app again somehow and just learn that you never reformat a Mac? Thanks in advance for any replies.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-What version of OS X?
-The issue only appeared after you erased the hard drive, correct? It was working normally before?
-Is Scrivener listed in the Purchased section in the App Store app when logged into your normal Apple ID?
-Have you ever had another Apple ID with which you made purchases?
-Have you tried deleting the Scrivener app and redownloading it?
-Is Spotlight enabled and set to include Applications?

C

Reaction score
-OSX El Capitan version 10.11.2
-The issue only appeared after reformatting the hard drive. I purchased a new computer, purchased the app, reformatted the computer and installed the OS from scratch, re-downloaded the app, then encountered the problem.
-Yes Scrivener is showing under my purchases still
-No, I do not have any other Apple ID's and am sure it was purchased under this same ID
-I have not tried deleting the app and redownloading it as I redownload end it after reformatting the drive
-Scrivener does show up in my spotlight search

On my PS4 there's an option to 'Make this my Primary PS4', is there anything like that for Mac? I can't imagine the MAC address or serial number for the computer changed during a reformat and fresh OS install but somehow the computer thinks it's changed.

Reaction score
The exact wording is as follows: