Sudden loss of power on 2010 27"iMac

Reaction score
Hello to all,
I have a 2010 27" iMac that I inherited form my son. I'm not really a newbie Mac user. I'm probably more than just a casual user but not a "power" user.
I've been using this iMac for the past year and except for a few minor issues, I never had any major problems with it yet. Ever since the onset of Online Classes (I teach college kids) I needed to use it everyday. Almost 3 weeks ago I was attaching (switching around USB cables at the back) when it suddenly shut off. I mean it was like someone cut off power to the machine. I booted it up again and it started normally and nothing seemed amiss. Then more than a week after that, I was again switching USB cables at the back when it happened again "poof" no power. So I assumed that I may have inadvertently touched or moved a connection to the power or the machine may have automatically shut down b/c of the temperature. (I noticed it was very warm...not hot but very warm). I let it cool for about 10 mins and booted it up. Again the machine worked fine.
Then this morning while I was chatting w some of my students online, we were waiting for the others to log it. I wasn't doing anything "physical" to the machine. In fact I wasn't touching it or anything...it again went black...no power. Oh and I have just turned it on maybe 15 minutes before so the machine was relatively cool.
Can anyone give their insight? Thanks so much.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello,

It sounds to me like there is either a short somewhere in the USB ports or the USB cables you are connecting, the power button is loose/failing, or the power supply is starting to fail. It could also be a thermal issue - you can check to make sure the vents are blocked/clogged with dust or foreign material. Canned air can be useful to clear those vents.

C

Reaction score