Screenshot freezing after Mojave installation

Discussion in 'Mac OS X' started by basils57, Nov 8, 2018.

  1. basils57

    basils57 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    After installing Mojave, Screenshot worked fine. Now, 10 days later I have a major problem with it:

    If I use it, when opening up the normal 'location area' appears; when I have adjusted it to the area required and hit Enter, the footprint of the 'location area' is visible against a darkened background and this footprint and background won't move.
    I can operate the content shown on the darkened screen, but am unable to remove the footprint and return the screen to normal.
    The only way I seem to be able to recover is to either restart or log out and back in.

    Has anyone any experience of this or any suggestions on how to overcome it please?
     
    basils57, Nov 8, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. basils57

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,044
    Likes Received:
    199
    Hello,

    Are you using the bulit-in screenshot function of Mojave, or a third-party app like Screenshot Plus?

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Nov 12, 2018 at 1:50 PM
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. basils57

    basils57 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Cory

    I'm using the built-in function.
    Strangely enough though, if I use Cmd-Sift-5 to do it there is no problem, and it works fine.
    I've since removed the screenshot icon from the dock, and am developing my 3 finger skills.
    I did notice initially that when operating from the dock with the problematic action, the floating index didn't appear?
     
    basils57, Nov 12, 2018 at 2:39 PM
    #3
  4. basils57

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    6,044
    Likes Received:
    199
    Hmmm...strange.

    I don't have a Mac here with Mojave to troubleshoot currently. I can try this week to see if I can replicate the issue.

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Nov 12, 2018 at 2:51 PM
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.