Safe to use iPhoto?

Reaction score
The reason I bought my iMac was specifically for photos and also to have the best computer ever! I've had it for a couple months now and have been using iPhoto to store all my images rather than creating thousands of folders and messing around with that whole mess.

1. Is it safe to use iPhoto to store all of my photos or is making additional folders outside of iPhoto a better option?
2. I do not use iPhoto for it's editing, just storage. I use Adobe Bridge and Photoshop CS5 for editing.
3. Once I delete photos off of iPhoto are they still on my computer? Because in Bridge, when using my raw images, the old photos that I have already deleted still show up on the line of images to select from.

I'm sorry, these may be dumb questions. I just want to figure it all out so I can keep my Mac clean and organized. :S

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
These are pertinent questions. I have been using iPhoto to manage my photos for about 8 years now and I am currently in the process of sorting out what I consider to be a pain but it is part of how iPhoto does it's thing.

If you are using iPhoto for storage only and have an outside editor, I'm not sure if you knew this, but in iPhoto prefs you can nominate an outside editor which will launch when you click on edit.

When you delete a photo in iPhoto it goes into iPhoto's own internal Trash. When you empty that Trash the photo is removed from your Hard Drive.

In your particular situation, because you use an external editor I think using iPhoto to store your media will work out just fine. It has to be easier than organising all those photos yourself, with nested folders and a crazy herarchy!