SOLVED Restore?? Hard drive

Reaction score
My intent was to erase an external HD. I accidently erased the mac pro lap top hard drive. How do I restore? Which is the best software to purchase (if I need to purchase anything) to get the job done. Would apple support via telephone be an option. I'm basically a novice but have owned a mac for over 15 years. Thanks for all assistance.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

A few questions for you:
-Which model MacBook Pro?
-Which version of OS X/mac OS was installed?
-How did you erase the drive - using the Recovery Partition or started up from an external HD?
-Did you have a Time Machine or other backup of your data?
-Is there any data you need to recover from the erased drive?

C

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

A few questions for you:
-Which model MacBook Pro?
-Which version of OS X/mac OS was installed?
-How did you erase the drive - using the Recovery Partition or started up from an external HD?
-Did you have a Time Machine or other backup of your data?
-Is there any data you need to recover from the erased drive?

C
2010 mac book pro
high sierra
son advised me to erase new external hard drive using exFat -- plugged in the external HD, found the format, pushed erase. Afterwards I realized the default choice was the MacBook pro. I stopped and have done nothing else
I had an external hard drive for back up, however it hasn't been plugged in for 40 days due to travel and its never been organized
I don't know if Time Machine was engaged, I've never used/looked at it
All of my banking, fathers personal banking, scanned documents are of great concern. I live out of the country most of the time and don't have access to personal "tech" support. And, I'm evidently not too smart and a novice.
Thank you for any and all support

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
OK, thanks.