Pictures being deleted in finder

Reaction score
When I try adding pictures to a folder they are getting deleted within a few seconds. I'm new to mac and still not sure how everything works but this is getting very frustrating!

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
Where are the pictures, what is the file extension of them (the 3 letters after the period (.) at the end of the file name), and where is the folder you are trying to put them in?

What method are you using to move the pictures?

What version of Mac OS X do you have?

Tell us exactly what happens from the second they are put in the folder and when they are deleted can you retrieve them?

Reaction score
I have the pictures on a disc I burned from my old laptop. They are JPGs. I am trying to put them in a folder under Pictures in finder.

I just selected all the pictures I wanted, copied them, then pasted them into the folder I wanted. I also tried pasting them just to the Picture folder then moving them from there into the folder I want them in.

The version of Mac OS X I have is 10.7.2

So when I copy them into any folder they appear for maybe 5 or 10 seconds and then one by one the pictures start to disappear. It starts with the 1st picture that was added and one by one they all just disappear. Once they're deleted from the folder I am not able to retrieve them. Actually I'm not really sure where they go once they've disappeared from the folder.

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
Very odd behaviour, that .... !!

Try dragging the photos from the disc window, onto your Desktop so they are copied to your Hard Drive, then move them into their final resting place. Do they still disappear?

Secondly, if the above fails, go through the usual method but note the file names of the jpgs, and once they've disappeared, perform a Spotlight search for them using one of the file names.