PB G4 Ti boot up problems (noob)

Reaction score
Hi:
I'm new to Macs and if this is in the wrong forum I apologize. A few days ago I noticed that the clock on the top of the screen kept stopping. Whenever I tried to reset the time I wasn't able to do so. And although the clock at the top of the screen was frozen, the date and time was correct in the Clock/Date box.

The bigger problem now, is that when I try to start up it freezes at the white screen with the Apple icon. I looked through a similar thread and followed the steps to safe boot (power, command + s). Alththough I got the screen to come up so I can type in the prompt, my keyboard is unresponsive. I even used an air duster and nothing changed.

I got this as payment for an art job I did, but this computer is a few years old, and I'm sure the warranty has long expired. I think I got cheated and am now stuck with a dying/dead Mac.

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome,

what version of OS software is your Mac running ?

Do you have any System disks ?

regards

Ric

Reaction score
Hi Ric

Thanks for responding. I'm running Mac OSX 10.0.3. I do have That disk along with all the other startup discs as well.

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there,

if you have everything important backed up I would be tempted to wipe the drive and reinstall the OS.

The fact that the computer is 'used' I would wipe everything off and reinstall the OS, that way you know that everything is ok.

Then you will be starting afresh and you will know that the problems you are experiencing are not software and we can then check the hardware...

regards

Ric

Reaction score
Thanks Ric!

I was afraird it would come down to that. I'll try it and let you know what happens. Thanks again for helping out I really appreciate it.

Reaction score