partition start up drive

Reaction score
Hi
just joined to get some help please
After 30 yrs or so, moved to Mac, bought s/h mac mini a year ago and about 6months ago i added a samsung ssd 250gb usb3 drive. it works fine and the increase in speed is great.
my problem is that when i first set up the SSD drive i decided to partition it into 2 equal parts, (thought i was being sensible!) one of which i use as my start up disk, that part is gradually filling up and the other part is hardly used.
i'd like to remove the partition completely, but try as gamy with disk utility i cannot get it to work
Maybe as i am new to Mac i am not carrying out the process properly, but it seems quite simple and i follow the rules to no avail
can i do this, whilst keeping the data on the first partition? or do i have to start again and wipe the new SSD
any help much appreciated
chrisjk

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-Which version of OS X?
-Do you have a current Time Machine or other backup on an external hard drive?
-What steps are you using in Disk Utility?

We strongly recommend having a backup of your data before attempting the removal of a partition on your internal startup drive. actually, we recommend it always.

C

Reaction score
Hi Cory and thanks - just posted a chase up as i had not had a reply - great to be in touch
OSX is Sierra
yes time machine back up to 1TB external WD drive
in DU i am using the Partition area
thanks again, await your comments
chris

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
No worries...sometimes it takes us a while to respond, but not always. ;)

Excellent that you have a backup - it is such a required step that many people overlook.

Is there any way you can post a screenshot of the Disk Utility window, so we can see what the situation looks like. Depending on which partition OS X is installed on, you should be able to resize the partition in place by deleting the unused partition, then dragging the slider to increase the remaining partition.