Need Help In Terminal - Trying to Revert Back to Mojave

Reaction score
Hello All,

I have never tried to do any of this before (I'm a new Mac user), and I'm not the most tech-savvy, so please bear with me if I'm looking at this all totally incorrectly or something I say doesn't make sense. Disclaimer now out of the way...

I'm attempting to get my OS back to Mojave, from Catalina. Catalina is so slow that my screen saver won't even run without constantly freezing up. I've researched the process online, and I've gotten a small way through the process and then I hit a wall.

I have macOS Mojave Installer downloaded in my Applications folder. I've wiped and formatted a thumb drive (titled "NO NAME"). Now, when I'm attempting to make the thumb drive bootable, I cannot proceed. Below is what I enter into the terminal:

sudo /Applications/Install macOSMojave.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia -volume/Volumes/NO NAME

Once entered, I am prompted for my admin password. Once the password is entered correctly, the following comes back:

sudo: /Applications/Install: command not found

Can anyone possibly advise me what I'm doing wrong, or if there is a workaround to proceed in this process? Catalina makes me want to jump off a bridge. Thanks for your help!

-Michael

Reaction score
When I have used an installer in the past I used the following:
sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ Mojave.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia -volume /Volumes/NO NAME

Reaction score
@Lufbrarunner I appreciate your response, I copied and pasted your suggestion directly into Terminal with no luck. I did, however, get a new error message:

olume is not a valid volume mount point.

That's verbatim what it says. Any thoughts?

Last edited:
Reaction score
Is you thumb drive formatted as Mac OS Extended (Journaled.) with a partition scheme set to GUID?

Reaction score
Are you sure the image you created the installer from is a full version of the OS and not just an update?

Reaction score