My storage space

Reaction score
I have a MacBook Air mid-2012 and it has always had problems with storage. It has a 121 gigabyte capacity, but something seems to use all of it up. I only have a couple of small games and a few movies, but nothing too big. I've done the math in finder and can't seem to find what is taking all of my storage. It is really frustrating and I hope someone could help. Something is always missing in finder that takes up tons of storage. If you need more information, comment and I'll reply. All websites I find only tell you how to free up a couple of gigabytes, but nothing this major. Please get back with me with some answers if you have the same problem or if you know how to fix it. I only have 5 gigabytes left so time is of the essence.

Reaction score
Believe it stands for Time Machine. I have no experience with Time Machine, as I use SuperDuper! for my backups.

What OS are you using? That could help us with trying to offer some assistance.

It is possible that some application (maybe "running" in the background) is eating up a lot of space.

Just for your information, I have a mid 2013 13" MacBook Air, with a 251 gig SSD (I am running with the latest version of El Capitan, OS 10.11.6), and I have never had "strange" storage issues (Interestingly, the "advertised" capacity is 256 gig, but it actually has a 251 gig SSD). By the way, you state that your machine's internal drive has a 121 gig capacity. Is that correct (and also a similar "anomaly" like my machine, as assuming it came with an SSD, the "advertised" size is 128 gig)?