Mini Mac OSX help

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a 77 year old designer from the old school (before computers) and have managed to adjust with Mac's
but have never been practical with software! if it works... thats fine. In the summer I was advised to install Snow Leopard to improve my Mac but from then on I have been unable to open any of my Illustrator files as they just crash! It was suggested to buy and install CS4 which I did but I had to provide the original CS code. As I have had CS for many years as it was first installed on my G3 and then a G4 and now the Mini,
I have not got a clue as to the code or at the time it's relevance. The new CS4 has been installed on a 30 day trial even though I brought it new from Amazon for £93.00, if there had been a warning when offering the CS4
prior to ordering I could have checked out the best action!!!!!!!

Question: How can I get a new code for my old CS or can I buy an old CS with code and will it work with the
new CS4 or do I have to buy a full version of CS6 which is not only expensive to me but will be far to complex for my limited skills and need!

Any kind help or advice will be most appreciated.

Reaction score
How can I get a new code for my old CS
Sorry you can't. You have to find the manuals/licence/box you got with the original CS.

The new CS4 has been installed on a 30 day trial even though I brought it new from Amazon for £93.00
So this was an Upgrade? If it was an Upgrade then you have to enter the qualifying old serial number. If it wasn't an Upgrade then the new Serial number should have been supplied and you just have to enter that.

I have to buy a full version of CS6
This won't work on your old Mac Mini as its Intel only. So don't do this.

I moved to iDraw. Maybe not all you need, but a simple alternative and you can save as .svg (a standard file format) so you aren't locked in going forward.

Reaction score
Thanks Kaveman,