Making a video

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the iMac arena so bear with me, please. I want to hear what kind of software y'all use (yeah, I'm from the south) to create videos. Here's the deal. My brother had to create a "multi-media" project as a HS senior in 1975. At the time, we were really uptown using a slide projector, a cassette recorded soundtrack and a script for the projector operator to know when to change slides. Good for a laugh, I know, but it got him an A.
I'd like to create a video to then burn to a DVD and sent to him for his 60th birthday. I've acquired the means to convert the cassette to MP3 file. I can scan the slides. What do you recommend to weave this all together and be able to have the slide changes "built into" the video file.
Hope this makes sense; if I can clarify, please let me know.
Thanks in advance for any sage advice.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello.

A little more info will help us help you:

-Which model Mac?
-Which version of OS X?
-You want a video that can be played on a DVD player, correct?
-Do you have any third-party apps already that process audio, video, and photos, or do you only have the standard Apple apps - iMovie, iTunes, and Photos?
-What kind of time frame do you have for this project?

C

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply. I have :
iMac 15, 1 27" 5K
Intel I5, 4 core
OS is Sierra 10.12.6
Yes, want to be able to combine elements to make a DVD
Nope, just what came on the machine.
I at first thought I was in a hurry, but that's not the case.

Reaction score
Still could use some help on this. I have had some VHS tapes converted and what I got back were MP4 files. What format do I need to convert to to make a DVD . . . .MOV? What software is good for this?

Reaction score
The format of DVDs is MPEG-2, also known as H.222 or H.262. The best (and free!) program to use for converting from MP4 to MPEG-2 is Handbrake, available from here:

https://handbrake.fr/downloads.php