MacBook Pro - will not start

Reaction score
I have been given a MacBook Pro which refuses to start, I just get a no entry/stop sign. I am new to Mac and have only ever used PCs. I have tried Cmd-R-Option, I used the disk utility and tried the first aid option, it said the operation was successful. I restarted it and ended up with the same screen. I repeated the process and used the Reinstall macOS option. It download for ages and then installed. Once restarted it went back to the white screen with the no entry/stop sign.

I have no disks and can't think of a next step. Is it possible to download the OS to a USB stick and start the laptop this way? The OS is Catalina.

Any help gratefully appreciated.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-Which exact model MacBook Pro?
-The Recovery tried to download and install Catalina, correct?
-Do you have access to another Mac, as you can create a bootable installer with DiskMaker X Pro

The prohibitive symbol you are see is telling you that it cannot find a version of macOS to startup from.

C

Reaction score
A1278
Yes Catalina
No, but I can ask around. Unfortunately, I live in a very remote rural area, so not a great area to cast my net.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
OK, thanks.

A1278 would be one of the following:
MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2009)
MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2010)
MacBook Pro (13-inch, Early 2011)
MacBook Pro (13-inch, Late 2011)
MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012)

MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012) is the only one that can run macOS Catalina, so I assume that is the model you have. You can check the complete model name by entering the serial number here:

Check Your Service and Support Coverage

That MBP originally came with OS X Lion 10.7.4. If Catalina won't install, you could try installing Lion using macOS Recovery by starting up using Shift-Option-R. Command-R starts macOS Recovery and will install the latest version of OS X/macOS that was on the Mac.

How to reinstall macOS from macOS Recovery