Mac App Store

Reaction score
I have been using Photo Mechanic for about 2 years on my Mac without any problems. Last week I installed OSX 10.8.2 and now when I open up P/M a panel appears telling me that P/M cannot be opened because it is from an unidentified developer. I hope I attached the screen shot of the panel correctly.
Any suggestion?

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2012-10-31 at 8.22.50 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2012-10-31 at 8.22.50 PM.png
    55 KB · Views: 248

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
That's Gatekeeper in Mac OS X. If an app is from an unidentified developer (they haven't registered fully for a Developer ID with Apple), you will get this message. You'll need to lower your security settings:

-System Preferences > Security > General
-Click lock in lower left and enter your user password
-Change "Allow applications downloaded from" to Anywhere

That should correct the issue you are having. Read more about Gatekeeper here:

OS X: About Gatekeeper

C

Reaction score
That's Gatekeeper in Mac OS X. If an app is from an unidentified developer (they haven't registered fully for a Developer ID with Apple), you will get this message. You'll need to lower your security settings:

-System Preferences > Security > General
-Click lock in lower left and enter your user password
-Change "Allow applications downloaded from" to Anywhere

That should correct the issue you are having. Read more about Gatekeeper here:

OS X: About Gatekeeper

C
Thanks Cory for your very quick response....I have made the changes as you suggested and it is working fine. Again, Thanks

Reaction score
Sorry guys, but I disagree with this answer, you have effectively turned off GateKeeper and the security it offers. This is not a good thing in todays internet world!!!