How to upgrade the speed of my mid-2010 MAC Pro without updating the operating system?

Reaction score
I’ve been editing a massive project for many years using Final Cut Pro 7, Mountain Lion OSX 10.8.5 on a mid-2010 MAC Pro, 2X2.4 GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon processor with 20 GB Ram. I know I cannot upgrade the operating system. While editing, I keep getting the message about dropped frames. I don’t understand how to fix this problem. Can I upgrade the speed of the disks without upgrading the operating system? What disks are they referring to? I appreciate any help as this is technically way over my head. Micki

RT Extreme dropped frames caused by slow disks:

Increase speed of the system and/or disk drives

Increase speed of disks

Decrease the number of RT layers

Limit the RT Bandwith in User Preferences

Decrease the number of real time layers

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello,

From my limited FCP knowledge, it is telling you that either the OS X System drive or the drive the scratch or media files are on are to slow for real-time rendering.

-Which brand/model/size are the hard drives installed?
-How much free space is left on them?
-How large is the project?
-Have you tried changing any of the settings it is recommending?
-Do you have a lot of RT Extreme effects in the project?
-Have you lowered the RT Extreme quality settings?

The only way to increase the speed of the drives is to replace them. You could make a Time Machine Backup, install an SSD, and restore the Time Machine backup. That would take care of the OS X drive. You could use SSDs to store the video files and as scratch disks as well.

C

Reaction score