High Sierra 10.13.3 Extremely slow start-up / boot (1 min 30)

Reaction score
MacBook Air 13" Early 2014 - factory internals except for a new Nu battery.
Upgraded to High Sierra a month or so ago, am now experiencing an average 1.39 minute log in, sometimes the loading bar even moves backwards.
Here is a list of what I have tried so far:
- Reset SMC and NVRAM
- Have checked TRIM is enable
- Have run first aid on disk permissions
- Have made sure my hard drive is not full and has more than 1/3rd free space
- There are no log in items to be launched on start up
- Have reselected Macintosh HD on start-up disk in system preferences and restarted
I'm not very tech savvy but I've been looking online for days to try and fix this problem.

Reaction score
I feel your "pain", although not as much. I also have the latest version of High Sierra, OS 10.13.3, installed on both of my Macs: a late 2012 Mac Mini with a 256 gig Samsung 840 Pro SSD and 8 gig of Ram, and a mid 2017 13" MacBook Air with a 252 gig SSD and 8 gig of Ram. Both of my machines are "lean, mean, and clean", and I make a concerted effort to perform some disk cleanup every day (primarily having deleted EMails permanently removed), and weekly disk cleanup/maintenance/repairs, and weekly backups via SuperDuper!. For both of the SSDs, I have more than 60% of free space.

For a while (and even when I had my prior Mac Book Air, a mid 2013 13" model with a 252 gig SSD and 4 gig of Ram), High Sierra was faster on starting up and shutting down on my laptop than on the Mac Mini. But recently I disconnected the external SSD I had attached to my Mac Mini, and the start up and shut down process improved "somewhat" dramatically. Now I only connect the external SSD when 1) I am doing a backup, or 2) I want to watch a movie or a TV series.