HELP! ~ on 'com.apple.dock.extra quit unexpectedly'

Reaction score
Hi,
I need help on how to solve this message that keeps on popping up on my screen and restarts my MBP 15" right after. I can't do anything anymore because it keeps on recurring.. I'm no techie so I would appreciate it so much if there's a step-by-step how to?.. The MBP is on 10.8.5.. Thank you so much!..

Reaction score
A couple of questions:

1. What exact Mac Book Pro model do you have? You stated MBP 15", but what model year, and model designator?

2. Are you making backups to an external device?

3. Have you ever done any disk cleanup/maintenance/repairs?

Reaction score
A couple of questions:

1. What exact Mac Book Pro model do you have? You stated MBP 15", but what model year, and model designator?

2. Are you making backups to an external device?

3. Have you ever done any disk cleanup/maintenance/repairs?
Wow, thanks for the reply!..

Reaction score
1. (screen shot)
2. Yes, my files are backed-up on an external device..
3. The power on button was repaired 2 months ago, or something was replaced there as I had problem powering it on..
Thanks so much!.. :)

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2017-02-18 at 3.03.33 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-02-18 at 3.03.33 PM.png
    60.7 KB · Views: 426

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

I know that older versions of iTunes caused this issue previously. Did you do any software updates or install any new software just prior to this issue occurring?

C

Reaction score
This link has an interesting discussion about this:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/7503531?tstart=0

It seems that the eventual solution was to create a new user account, and the issue went away.

Also, a couple of clarifications about the questions I asked earlier:

1. You state "Yes, my files are backed-up on an external device..". What software are you using for that? Just dragging and dropping files/folders is not enough.