From Scratch

Reaction score
Hi Im a lot of a newbie here when it comes to macs so please be gentle;)

Right My lovely other half (just incase she reads this) was given a powermac G4 from her work as they were moving to pc's and were just planning on binning the macs.

now she was given a mac os 9.1 disc and was basically told she could have the machine as long as she got rid of everything on it (I think so it didn't have any of the paid for software on it) Not really a problem buying the software as shes got a free computer:p .

Now I come from a PC background so im a bit cluesless here (please feel free to insultme here;) ) but i just presumed we would be able to re-install the OS over whats on and this would remove any of her companies software/files. Now ive tried holding the 'c' button when I turned it on and it looks like its going to do something before it goes straight into the normal desktop:confused: Am I doing something wrong or is this just not possible? All im wanting to do is format it and start again?

Thanks for any wisdom your willing to part onto these Mac noob shoulders

Reaction score
Hi, try starting with the option key instead. If that doesn't work, find the preference panel for start-up disc and select the disc while it's inserted. If it's a g-4, you should be able to run Tiger, which is a much much nicer system and much more is being developed for it now...
Since we moving toward Leopard, Tiger is cheaper at some places right now. Once you have Tiger install, you can update whatever build you receive to the very newest through the Apple menu...

Reaction score
Hi

Thanks for the info ill give it a try.

out of curiosity, Ive just noticed that it has 9.2 on it but they gave us a 9.1 disc. Could this be caused by the fact that its an older OS than whats on?

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome,