DVD player scratching dvds

Reaction score
Hi. I'm pretty new to computers, in general, and very new to my Mac. I've had my MacBook since August and I'm still very much in the learning process, more hit and miss and looking it all up.:eek:

My problem is, I recently discovered the enjoyment of taking my macbook to bed with me with a good dvd :) before sleeping. :D Now here's the problem.:confused:

I got a brand new (copy) dvd copy of an old movie from a friend. It looked fine, and I loaded it and it played fine until almost the end. When I got to a certain spot, it broke up a little, then the picture stopped, but I could feel it was still spinning in my computer. I tried to eject it, but it wouldn't eject. Eventually, and I don't recall exactly how I did it, I finally got it to eject. When I looked at it, it had bad marks on it, it almost resembled an old vinyl record in one area. :eek:

I took the dvd and put it in my player to see what would happen on my player with the tv. The dvd (in that one area) is ruined. The beginning and ending all play fine.
icon4.gif

Since then, I cautiously tried another dvd in my computer, and it played just fine. It seemed to confirm that it was a problem with the first disk. I played a few more videos with no further problems, until the other night.
icon8.gif

I took a dvd out, that I had played before, and it was fine. In playing it, the picture stopped again. I could feel it spinning in the computer, as in the first case. Franticly I was able to finally get it ejected, and once again, those circular grooves are etched into the disk. :eek:

I have put the dvd through my cleaner and tried to play it on my regular player, as as suspected, that portion of the dvd is ruined.:eek:

What could be wrong with my almost new MacBook (It's a Tiger, haven't updated it, nothing in the update I will use).
icon5.gif