FaceTime Not Working — DSL Modem is the Problem

Reaction score
I have a DSL subscription through AT&T which I've been very happy with for almost ten years. AT&T recently had to provide me with an updated DSL modem/router which is connected to an 8-port switch for my printer/scanner, my wife's old PowerMac and 4 file servers.

Now I can't get FaceTime to work no matter how many times I enter my AppleID and password.

AT&T has provided instructions on how to fix this, but they don't work. I can access all the administrator tools via Safari, and I've looked high and low about how to enable FaceTime without much luck. What I have found might as well be written in Hebrew.

If anyone has some relatively simple step-by-step instructions which would assist me, I'd be in your debt. Otherwise, I'll have to pay AT&T $180 for a technician to come out and alter my DSL modem settings for me and I'd really rather spend my money on other things!

Reaction score
Going back over my chicken scratch notes, I see the problem has something to do with FaceTime needing to open a port to let me login and that it has to be opened by accessing the modem through my browser to alter some settings. After poking around in there, I'm frankly too scared to alter ANYTHING in there for fear of losing e-mail and browsing capabilities.

Oh, yeah, about AT&T. They told me the tech who installed my modem and UPS could've configured it for me while he was here on the service call, and that they'll levy a $180 fee if that's all they send a tech out for. Bastards.

Reaction score
Oh, yeah, about AT&T. They told me the tech who installed my modem and UPS could've configured it for me while he was here on the service call, and that they'll levy a $180 fee if that's all they send a tech out for. Bastards.

Understand! I have similar issues with Comcast, regarding so-called "technical support". Fortunately, most of those problems have to do with our TV service from them.

Reaction score