Can I upgrade my MacBook Mac OS X to newer version? How?

Reaction score
Hi Folks,
I've got a MacBook my family bought for me refurbished in 2011. For the last several months I have manually searched for software updates, and none show up. I want to install Google Chrome and OneNote, but I cannot because my version of OS 10.6.8 can't download them. I'll admit that I'm not technically savvy, so please offer some constructive advice. Thanks in advance for any help you can offer. Here are some more details about my Mac:
Model Name: MacBook
Model Identifier: MacBook5,2
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.13 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
Boot ROM Version: MB52.0088.B06

Reaction score
First, you can upgrade the OS, for free, your machine, and in fact, all the way to OS 10.11.2, El Capitan (new version came out yesterday). If you want to upgrade the OS, you do need to do some preparatory tasks. Let us know and we can help you (you will need to upgrade to more RAM, but that is not a difficult task).

Secondly, you can install Google Chrome on it. Here is the link where you can download the latest version (just came out yesterday):

https://www.google.com/chrome/browser/desktop/

As for OneNote, the newest version, 15.16, requires OS 10.10 (Yosemite) or above (here is the link for that version:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/microsoft-onenote/id784801555?mt=12

You should do a google search for a version between the one you have now and V 15.16 for one that will work with Snow Leopard, OS 10.6.8.

Reaction score
Taz4peace,

You can always update your MacBook the latest version. And, for your knowledge the latest version of Mac is EI Capitan.