Burning DVD's?!?!?!?!?!

Reaction score
i'm not sure if this has been covered recently or not but...
...i'm new to mac, just bought a brand new iMac. two things i can't figure out regarding dvd burning.

1/ i can't figure out how to just put a dvd into my computer, save it, and burn it onto a blank dvd. should be simple right? do i need to download a program or something?

2/i've been trying to burn these videos off the internet...i believe they're avi files. i've looked up downloading some special programs, but its too confusing. once again do i need to download something?

any help would GREATLY be appreciated. this has been bugging me for weeks, and i feel like i'm not getting full use of my new computer.

thanks.

karazelle

Reaction score
Burning (for AVIs, scroll down)
For the first question you use Disk Utility (I know - might not be your first guess) which comes with the system in /Applications/Utilities (when Finder is active, use the Go menu).

Once in Disk utility, insert the DVD, then go to the File menu -> New -> image from ds0(somethingsomething) and then choose location, file name, and CD/DVD master from the dropdown menu.
To burn it, it will appear in the list to the left under the divider under the harddisks etc. Click on it once, then click the Buirn button on the toolbar when you have inserted a blank DVD.

To burn a DVD with files, you cannot use Finder directly as that does CD-s. Instead, make a folder on your Mac, and fill it with the DVD contents, folder layout etc. Then in Disk Utility, File->New->Image from folder. NOTE! That will effectively store your data twice, so keep that in mind for disk space. When image is created you burn it as mentioned above and when your DVD seems to work you can delete the folder or the image, depending.

To burn a DVD from the applications, use the burn features within the programs. iTunes and iDVD doesn't require you to use Disk Utility.