"bad" flash drives, or corrupted?

Reaction score
Hi guys, newbie here having a problem with SanDisk cruiser glide 3.0 32GB flash drives. I bought a 3 pack of these guys a while back ( 6 months +/- ). I was able to open them all on my MacBook Pro 13 (2015) and add vacation pics to all of them. Over the months my boss wanted to see the pics because we went on some interesting cruises, etc. All 3 flash drives were played back on the companies windows desktop, all three worked fine. Now when I plug any of the 3 into my mac ( either usb, does not matter which) my mac cannot "see" the drives, will not place them on the desktop. Cannot do a normal eject as Finder cannot see them, when removed I get the normal "did not eject properly" message. All 3 drives open no problem on our other windows computers here at my house but will not show on my mac anymore!!! Did I get a bad batch of drives? or is there something else going on? Please enlighten me, thank you all.

Reaction score
Go to Finder>Preferences>General, and see if the items you want to show on your Desktop are checked.
Do the same in Finder>Preferences>Sidebar.

Reaction score
Go to Finder>Preferences>General, and see if the items you want to show on your Desktop are checked.
Do the same in Finder>Preferences>Sidebar.
Thanks TTT, I did have those items checked. I wonder if Windows changed them to fat32 or ntfs files, not visible to mac? Would the windows computer be able to restore the original format? Thanks.

Reaction score
If you change the format, you will lose the files.
Try un-checking and re-checking the boxes.
Try >Force Quit>Finder (at the bottom of the list) Finder will restart
Try the Disk Utility app, and see if they show up there.
If they do, try First Aid to see if anything improves.

Reaction score