App Store thinks I need an Excel update but won't let me.

Reaction score
My Mac says there is an update to Microsoft Excel (yesterday it updated Outlook). But when I try to download it I get “Microsoft Excel cannot be updated because it was refunded or purchased with a different Apple ID.”—

I have a subscription and it updated my wife’s. Subscription belongs to (e-mail address removed) (my appleID is howardbrazee@mac.

I downloaded and ran the Microsoft update tool and it says everything’s up-to-date. So it's the App Store that's confused.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hi,

If you purchased it from the App Store, you could try deleting the Excel application, then re-download from the App Store.

C

Reaction score
I'm not sure how I originally purchased it. I do know that a few years ago, I had to change to the subscription model, and I get my $100 taken from my checking account every February. I still have the first e-mail from Microsoft for the subscription.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
If you downloaded Excel from the App Store, it will be in your Purchased section in the App Store app. It does offer in-app purchase subscriptions, so that should show in Store > View My Account > Subscriptions in the App Store app's menu bar.

I don't use Microsoft Office on my personal Macs, so I am not very familiar with their subscription model and how it works when purchased directly or via the App Store.

C

Reaction score
Interesting, When I went to App Store>View my account>Subscription Service, I saw Purchases by me and Purchases by my wife. The first time I went into purchases by me, it was empty. Then I went into my wife's purchases and saw a lot, including Microsoft Office applications. Then I went into my account and they were all there. Excel is the only one that says "Update". Word doesn't. I don't see anyplace to look up "Subscription Service".

Cory Cooper

Reaction score