Wierd issue using MS word - it's like my iMac can't keep up

Reaction score
Hi all, I've recently migrated to a new iMac (from an older iMac) and I'm having this really weird problem where I type something and only half (or less) of the letters appear. It's like my Mac isn't processing as fast as I type and it is sooo annoying as I write for a living and usually have tight turnaround deadlines. I've also noticed today some other weird things happening, such as the font size in a document suddenly changing or the text colour changing from black to white in the middle of a page.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated :)

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

A few troubleshooting questions:
  • What model and OS X/mac OS version was the old iMac?
  • What model and OS X/mac OS version is the new iMac?
  • Did you use Migration Assistant to migrate all applications and your data?
  • What version of Microsoft Word/Office?
  • Does the issue only affect Microsoft Word/Office?
  • Do you have any third-party utilities installed like MacKeeper, antivirus, etc.?
C

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

A few troubleshooting questions:
  • What model and OS X/mac OS version was the old iMac?
  • What model and OS X/mac OS version is the new iMac?
  • Did you use Migration Assistant to migrate all applications and your data?
  • What version of Microsoft Word/Office?
  • Does the issue only affect Microsoft Word/Office?
  • Do you have any third-party utilities installed like MacKeeper, antivirus, etc.?
C
Hi Cory and thanks for responding. To answer your questions:
  1. Old iMac was running Big Sur (or maybe Catalina - it was old I know, I had problems upgrading as kept getting a message saying my disk was corrupted, even when I changed o a new one
  2. New iMac is Ventura
  3. Yes I used migration assistant
  4. MS Office is Office 365
  5. Doesn't seem to affect any other apps, only word (although that is the primary MS app that I use