New to iMac.....reassurance needed.

Reaction score
Hi all.

I am a total newbie to iMac.
If some of the questions I hope you will answer and help me with....seem.....or are stupid.....please be patient:D

I am not a business user and have bought the iMac for home use...internet....photos......learn how to capture family videos......music......email.

I have purchased an iMac 21.5 retina 4K display.
3.6GHz quad-core Intel core i3 6mb.
Le cache
8Gb of 2666MHz memory.
1 TB 5400 tpm hard drive.

I think it is the 2019 model?.........can anyone confirm that for me please.

First stupid question.....is this a suitable model for my basic needs listed above?

Not opened the box yet.........need some reassurance from experienced users before I pull the tab on the box.

I have ordered the iMac for Dummies book to help me with the learning process.

If you feel you could help me out here I would extremely great full to you.

Thank you all.

Reaction score
Fonzo,

Welcome to the world (or should it be universe) of Apple Mac. I made the jump in 2010.

I found Dummies books a little limited. There are others published by Peachpit and Minute Help Guides. It is worth reading several.

My preferences for more than a few years have been the Missing Manuals by David Pogue, published by O'Reilly. They are massive tomes and there is one for each iteration of the MacOS plus another for iWork. Priced around US$25.00.

Good hunting.

Reaction score
Hi PaBear :)

Thank you for taking the time to reply.....much appreciated.
I take on board your comments re the Dummies book.
Is there a particular book that is relevant to the machine I have bought....or are they pretty generic and cover all Mac OS.......I am a total tech numpty :D
But trying to get to grips with it all.

I have moved across from windows 7 to the Mac so very unsure of myself.
No computers when I was at school.....self taught
:rolleyes:

Reaction score
First, GET THAT BOX OPENED!