Migration assistant

Discussion in 'Mac Notebooks' started by PaBear, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. PaBear

    PaBear New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have partially migrated some documents from my 2011 I-Mac to my new MacBook Pro using the Migration Assistant. A curious thing happened in that I now have two separate accounts on the MBP, with different passwords quite unintentionally. One is from the I-Mac, the other from the initial settings of the MBP.

    It was a little alarming at first since the usual MBP password & fingerprint would not work, and of course, a great deal more storage space is now occupied. I intend to make use of the new arrangement and keep the two accounts. Yet to be seen whether Time Machine backups of both are made.
     
    PaBear, Dec 21, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. PaBear

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,832
    Likes Received:
    130
    Hello,

    -Which version of OS X?
    -Did you already have a user account setup with the same name? If so, Migration Assistant will not "add" the migrated files to that account, it will create a new account.

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Dec 25, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. PaBear

    PaBear New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cory,
    Both machines on latest Sierra, updated. I think what you are suggesting has happened. The new MBP 13inch now has two users. Not a problem, just unexpected.
     
    PaBear, Dec 26, 2016
    #3
  4. PaBear

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,832
    Likes Received:
    130
    It's a semi-common issue, and Apple doesn't really warn you about it openly. However, Migration Assistant should have asked you about it if they have the exact same name.

    Move your content to a new Mac

    "If you transfer an account that has the same name as an account on your new Mac, you're asked to rename the old account or replace the one on your new Mac. If you rename, the old account appears as a separate user on your new Mac, with a separate home folder and login. If you replace, the old account overwrites the account on your new Mac, including everything in its home folder."

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Dec 26, 2016
    #4
  5. PaBear

    honestone VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,893
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    Kent, WA (just south of Seattle, WA)
    When you say Sierra, is that V10.12, V10.12.1, or V10.12.2? V10.12.2 came out about 2 weeks ago. If you need it, you can get the Combo Updater from here:

    https://support.apple.com/kb/dl1900?locale=en_US
     
    honestone, Dec 26, 2016
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Newsbot
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    626
    Newsbot
    Jan 5, 2007
  2. Newsbot
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    870
    Newsbot
    Apr 5, 2007
  3. Newsbot
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,285
    leuboo
    Feb 26, 2012
  4. Newsbot
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    617
    Newsbot
    Dec 12, 2007
  5. paulrroos@gmail.com

    Migration Assistant & BootCamp

    paulrroos@gmail.com, Mar 26, 2008, in forum: Mac OS X
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    593
    paulrroos@gmail.com
    Mar 26, 2008
  6. Newsbot
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    547
    Newsbot
    May 3, 2008
  7. Newsbot
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    791
    Newsbot
    Jun 7, 2008
  8. Aawara Chowdhury
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    438
    Aawara Chowdhury
    Jul 21, 2007
Loading...