Late 2009 iMac AMD-Action:downloadProduct:SP (HELP)


jmulder09

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
So I erased my hard drive, and trying to start fresh with this iMac. I was able to erase the hard drive, and every time I go to install MacOS Sierra I get the error "AMD-Action:downloadProduct:SP". I can't seem to figure this out with any information online. Please help!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,119
Reaction score
248
Hello and welcome.

I have heard of this Apple ID signin issue. Normally, it resolves itself in a day or two.

Have you tried it again since Sunday?

C
 

jmulder09

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
I did not try it at all yesterday. But since I’m at the reboot screen it doesn’t give me any option to sign in, I’m just clicking to install the OS and I get that error. I’ll try again tonight and see, but please let me know if you have any other ideas I can try.
 

jmulder09

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Yes that’s what I’m using. I get to the point where I’ve selected the HD and selected to install Sierra, that loads for a few seconds and then the error comes up. At that point I can either retry or cancel. Both get me nowhere.
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,119
Reaction score
248
OK, I assume you are connected to Wi-Fi or to your network with an Ethernet cable?

C
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,119
Reaction score
248
Not necessarily...it just needs a connection to Apple to allow signin and to download the installer. You could try it however, just to rule out a connectivity issue.

C
 
Ad

Advertisements

jmulder09

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Ok. Do I need to login to my Apple account from another computer and authorize that computer or something along those lines as well?
 

jmulder09

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
The iMac is still listed in my Apple account that I can view from my iPhone. Should I remove it from the account and then try?
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,119
Reaction score
248
You don't need to authorize it from another device, as it can verify eligibility on its own.

You could try removing it from the account, not sure that would help or if it may cause more issues.

I found this thread in the Apple Communities - Error logging into App Store - AMD-Action:authenticate:SP

Maybe some of their recommendations would help?

C
 

jmulder09

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Ok thanks. I’ve found that thread before, but a key difference. That error is “authenticate” and I’m having the download error. I’ve worked through that thread before without success.
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,119
Reaction score
248
OK

Do you have another Mac? If so, you could download the Sierra installer and create a bootable installer drive using an app like DiskMaker X.

I personally haven't run into this issue before in my experience, so I am basically searching for any possible fixes via the Internet as well.

Will keep at it,

C
 

jmulder09

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Also when I get the error, and I click cancel I receive another error that states “ The App Store recovery purchase failed”. Does that shed any light for you?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
7,119
Reaction score
248
A little.

I know you tried Recovery Mode, which attempts to install the last version you had...have you tried Internet Recovery? It will install the version of OS X/macOS that your iMac came with. You can then upgrade to any later versions using App Store > Purchased.

Internet Recovery - power on or restart and hold Command-Option-R immediately when you hear the startup chime. Keep holding until your see the Starting Internet Recovery globe icon. You should then get prompted to join a Wi-Fi network. Once joined, you should see a progress bar, then the OS X Utilities screen, where you can choose Reinstall OS X. It can take quite a while for this to appear, since it is loading from Apple's servers over the Internet.

See how that goes,

C
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top