Keynote problems upgrading from Yosemite to Sierra - High Sierra?

Reaction score
Hi all. I wish to update MacBookPro from Yosemite 10.10.5 to either Sierra or High Sierra. My great concern is: how would behave the Keynote slides created with Keynote 6.6.1 (Yosemite) once I open them with Keynote 7.3.1 on Sierra or High Sierra? Would I get the slides formatted differently, probably messed-up with spaces between sentences and objects not corresponding to the original made in version 6.6.1? I have an enormous quantity of Keynote slides (I am a consultant) and I cannot afford to find all of them messed up, when opened with a newer Keynote. And I now wish to upgrade my OS due to security reason. Thanks a lot for any help, greetings from Italy.

Reaction score
It's wise that you are first posing this question before upgrading. Many folks just go ahead and upgrade "in place", without a good plan, and subsequently run into problems.

OK, need to ask a couple of questions, and then provide one possible strategy:

1. Have you ever done an disk cleanup/maintenance/repairs, from a software perspective? By that I mean have you ever run any disk-related software to help with those tasks? There are some excellent products available (both free and commercial) that can help you with that.

2. This is critical: are you making backups to an external device? If you are, what software are you using for that?

3. One of the things you need to consider is that all your third party software (ie, non-Apple) is compatible with whatever OS you plan on upgrading to. This site can help you with that:

https://roaringapps.com/apps

Not sure how you do your backups, but given the need to "protect" all your keynote files, it might be best to use a backup/cloning program like SuperDuper! or Carbon Copy Cloner before you upgrade. It would be good if you first read this thread I started back in November about backups:

https://www.mac-help.com/threads/backups-backups-backups.223959/