SOLVED Help with Outgoing Mail

Reaction score
Here's a question that should be easy to solve, yet I'm suffering brain cramps figuring it out. I've been using a Mac since 1985, so I'm embarrassed by asking, but here goes.

I recently switched my ISP from AT&T to Comcast, and overall, I'm tickled to death, especially with the speed. I'm keeping AT&T until October or so in order to more smoothly make the transition.

I got my Comcast Mail account set up and running, at least at first. Now it won't let me send mail, only receive. Get the dreaded "select (another) server" window and it still doesn't work.

Then a couple of days ago, I can't send outgoing mail from my sbcglobal.net account, but incoming is fine.

Now today, I can't send or receive anything from my iCloud Mail account.

What's going on??? I thought I had the SMTP settings fine, and I haven't changed anything (other than switching to a different VPN, and I can't see how that would have any effect.

I had this happen once before about four years ago and it took me a week to figure it out. This time I'm drawing blanks, and considering how long I've used a Mac, this should be easy for me to fix.

I'd really appreciate some help. Oh, the Macs:

2013 iMac, macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
2012 MacBook Pro, 2.9GHz i7 CPU, Mojave 10.14.5

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello,

Mail can definitely be a pain. It tends to go awry for no reason.

-Do you have a lot of emails stored in mailboxes on your Mac?
-How many total email addresses - Comcast, AT&T (sbcglobal.net), iCloud...are there others?
-VPN could have an effect, but probably not.
-I assume you setup your accounts using the Internet Accounts preference pane, which then adds them to the Mail app?

C

Reaction score
Hi Cory

— I have three e-mail accounts: sbcglobal.net (which I'll be dropping in October), comcast.net for the lion's share, and iCloud.com for professional stuff that I deem sensitive and might need anywhere/anytime.