Help with iMovie, please?!! (New & thick user!)

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm not sure if I am in the right place but here goes . . .

I have been using a PC for 12 years and have just made the leap to a Mac. I have got a MacMini (256mb) woth OS x v.10.4.8. . . . . I hope that means something to someone as I know NOTHING and have simply plugged it in and tried to use it. So far, it's been pretty good but then I've only been browsing the net, downloading music and emailing!

Today, I plugged my video camera in and managed to surprise myself by creating a little film in iMovie. It was all going really well until I attempted to put a title in - and I have sat here cursing at the thing for over an hour!

Can someone help, please?! I have read the tutorial, read the instructions and even looked online for further help but to no avail.

Apparently, I "simply" need to add my chosen text to the frame by dragging and dropping. IT WON'T DO IT! Everytime I drag and drop, it pings straight back to the text-type box. I have tried everything. Incidentally, the 'update' button never un-greys so I can't click on that. . . . I've tried creating a new coloured frame, tried placing the text over the first frame and also clicking the 'over black' button but it still pings back. . . .

What am I doing wrong?!

Any help would be *gratefully* appreciated!

Thanks for reading!

Reaction score
Hello Harna and Welcome!

I don't mess around with iMovie that much, but I may be able to still help out.

First of all, what version of iMovie do you have?

I have iMovie HD 6.0.3 (267.2). You can find your version by opening iMovie and in the upper left hand corner, clicking on iMovie and click on About iMovie.

If we have the same version, here is how I inserted a title: