HELP! ... Internet works only on FB and google

Reaction score
Internet works only on Facebook and google. It also works fine in safe mode.

I have tried every fix possible that I could find. The error is "no data received"

We did not recently install any new programs or files.

I ran a scan for virus came up clean
I removed cookies
I deleted internet and put back in.
I tried plugging in Ethernet cord

I am running Maverick las test update. Error on chrome Firefox and Safari

I am totally puzzled. I don't give up easily and do want to fix this. Any suggestions are welcomed. Thanks.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-Do you have the Firewall turned on?
-Have you checked the Proxies tab in the Network preference pane?
-What brand/model router are you running?

C

Reaction score
I'm not sure about the firewall or where to find it on the mac. I'm very new to the mac :)

We checked the proxies tab and reset all the wireless internet and ran the diagnostics and nothing has come up.

It isn't the router - we checked that first.
I'm very puzzled as to what this could be. I will format if I have to but prefer not to.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
The Firewall is in Preferences > Security & Privacy > Firewall.

You could try adding a test user, logging into it, and testing the browsers there to see if it is a user or OS issue.

C

Reaction score
Hello, I just made an account on this website so I could ask for help with the same problem! It's the same in all the internet browsers on my computer, safari, chrome and firefox. I'm currently writing this from a PC in the house, so it's not a problem with the internet connection. I used my mac only yesterday, it was working fine and since then I haven't downloaded anything and I'm pretty sure nothing has changed.

Reaction score
Hi,

I ran a scan for virus came up clean
Feel this is a 3rd part issue like your AV software if it runs in real time.