Flash files are skipping/HOT

Reaction score
I have a newish MBP
2.4 ghz 2 GB
OS 10.4

2 questions:

First, I'm having problems with flash files. Websites like Pandora.com (flash-based radio), myspace music pages, or any other flash files are skipping. Sometimes the video skips and sometimes it doesn't but the audio always does. It's highly annoying.

I cleaned out things I know to clean out but I'm relatively new to Apple and I might be missing something. Is it possible that its because my hard-drive is 70% full? (Bootcamp with Vista :mad: )

Second, my MBP has never had a heating problem. I have the SMC Fan control and have always noticed the temp stay around 90-110 *F, but recently I've seen constant spikes of 180+ and it hardly ever goes below 130*F. What should I be looking for?

Thanks a ton guys, I wish I had more time to research and solve my own problems but I've been pretty busy.

Any help is appreciated!

Reaction score
MacR - can't help you with the flash files problem.

I have a MBP 17" and it is currently running at 50 Celsius or 122 Fahrenheit and all I have done is check my email. If I am running several programs at once and using the DVD burner I often see temperatures like you say you get. But this only if I am making it work for a living.
Having said that my daughter has an Asus 15.4" laptop and it is very hot on her legs although she does not monitor temps. At one stage I could hear the fan across the room working hard. I pulled the back off and found quite a lot of dust accumulated in the vent for the graphics card fan which was causing it to struggle to get cooling air into the machine. Once I cleaned that out the laptop ran much cooler and quieter, although it is still quite warm on the legs.

Reaction score
MacR - can't help you with the flash files problem.