Final Cut Pro on G3 OSX

Reaction score
Hi.
I am very new to macs. I bought a G3 i-mac to use Final Cut Pro on it. The mac came with OS 9.1 where I installed Final Cut Pro 2 and it worked perfectly. My friend updated my mac to OSX which means I can't use the version of Final Cut Pro that I had previously installed. Does anyone know which version I am now able to use? I don't want to pay for something that won't work.
I appreciate any help!
Becs

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there Becs and welcome,

How much Memory do you have on your iMac and what version of OS X are you now running ?

Is it Final Cut Pro you need ? The Upgrade is $700 from Final Cut Pro vers 2 !!!

Final Cut Pro is now part of a bundle of software called "Final Cut Studio" ($1299)

Depending on your needs...Final Cut Express is very good...$299 for the new version.

What sort of editing are you doing ?

regards

Ric

Reaction score
Hi Ric. Thanks for your support.

I am now running Tiger OSX and memory-wise I think I now have 192 MB. Alot of memory has been taken up by language and printer drivers that I don't need and will soon be taking off. It's a 400 MHz i-mac.
I am hoping to use a version of Final Cut Pro to do digital video editing. I have been using Final Cut Pro 4 at college - so I am used to using that programme. I think final cut pro 2 is still in an old folder on the i-mac, but I can't run it as it won't open in OSX. I was wondering if final cut pro 3 would work or if there was a way to run final cut pro 2 in OSX and upgrade it. I think the apple website offer free downloads to upgrade final cut software.

Becs

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there,

Final Cut Pro 3 and up will work on OS X it needs at least 10.2.1 and 256MB of RAM...but you need version 3 first the updates on Apples site wouldn't be free for upgrading version 2 to 3 etc...

Final Cut Express is in essence FCP it just doesn't have all the features. But if you are used to FCP then it's an easy transition.