Extract Data From A 2 Part .dmg file

Reaction score
Hello All,

I am pretty new to a MacOS. I just picked up an older iMac which is running MacOS Catalina and I have an application that I want to install on this machine. It is in a 2 part .dmg archive:
File 1: App.dmg = 2.02 GB
File 2: App.002.dmgpart = 2.1 GB
When I double click File 1 to extract the archive it does extract teh image and places it on the desktop as a volume. WHen I check the size os the extracted volume it shows 5.39 GB, which makes sesne to me. If I look in the file there has to be stuff missing because there are only 3 files totalling 7.4 MB... If I try to install it by running the .pkg file in that volume, it hangs after some time and never completes.

I am sure that this volume or original .dmg file must be bad. Just for curiosiity I looked at the file on a windows machine using 7Zip an I see all the missing files.

Since I am such a newbie, coudl anyone advise me as to how I may be able to go about salvaging this data and repackaging it up so I actually install the app?

Thanks in advance.

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

I haven't heard of multi-part disk images for years, since modern versions of macOS and current storage can easily handle extremely large files.
  • What is the application in the two DMG files you are trying to install?
  • How old are the DMG files?
  • What was the source of the DMG files?
C

Reaction score
It is an audio plugin instrument (VST plugin) . It has / was always this way when downloaded from the site. On High Sierra I had no issues opening it up so this threw me for a loop. It is from 2012-2015 time frame. I just wanted to figure out if I could extract it adn them repackage it like expand / flatten for .PKG files.

Since I can see all the data is still there in the origina .DMG

Reaction score