Dongle hell dilemma!

Reaction score
With regret, it's probably time for me to upgrade my laptop. I've been using for 4 years now the early 2013 15-inch MBP retina model. There are video issues - serious ones. I've already had it into Apple once and they did a free GPU replacement (a year and half to two years ago) because it was a known issue at the time, but it's doing it again. Whenever video is intensive - streaming two at once from two different websites, or trying to view one of those 360 videos - it just shuts down on its own.

I've been told the same computer (2015 model) did not have these issues. I'm really hesitant to upgrade to one of the new touchbar models because I don't really like what Apple did with losing all the cool, convenient ports that make it so easy to plug in whatever I want whenever I want. The only way I would even consider upgrading to one of the new touchbar models would be to purchase a hub that connects right into the computer without any cables (such like the HyperDrive 3 model). I hate cables! At the same time, I also can find very little information online as to how some of these hubs perform, and I'm skeptical.

Should I just upgrade to to the same computer 2015 model? Price-wise it's not much different than upgrading to a brand new touchbar MBP pro. Or, as some people in my life have been saying - I need to be current and stay with the times, should I just go for it and upgrade to a touchbar model?

Any advice you can give is appreciated, especially where USB C hubs may be concerned.

Cheers!

Reaction score