Deleting user after backing up data to time machine

Discussion in 'Mac OS X' started by Punkyclown, Feb 10, 2018.

  1. Punkyclown

    Punkyclown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I am trying to reclaim disk space off of an iMac 27 inch running El Capitan. My daughter finished college
    got a job and moved out. I have been sharing the computer with her, but the 320 mg hard drive only has
    25 mgs free. So I would like to back up her data up to Time Machine and remove here from the computer. Can
    I than go back at some time and recover her to that machine or an other?
    Thanks for the help.
    Brad Hansen
     
    Punkyclown, Feb 10, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Punkyclown

    Cory Cooper Moderator

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,976
    Likes Received:
    197
    Hello,

    Yes, that should work. You could also delete her user, and choose to keep the home folder. Once that is done, then drag it to en external disk for storage and delete it from the internal.

    C
     
    Cory Cooper, Feb 11, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.