Airport Extreme

Reaction score
I've just ordered a new Intel Mac and will be getting a 54-Mbps AirPort Extreme Card built into it.

I just wondered - does that mean that I will automatically get wireless connection to my broadband? So in effect wireless broadband? So no need to pay for a wireless modem?

Do I just need to configure the settings on Airport or will it automatically detect the broadband settings when I install it?

Reaction score
Girl:

Yes, if your unit has a built in wireless card (which pretty much all laptops, iMacs, and I believe mini-macs have), it will detect a wireless signal where ever one exists, and will ask if you want to hook up to it. Automatically!

Reaction score
OK, thanks for that :) Sorry for silly question but I'm new to wireless :)

Ric

Reaction score
iGirl said:
...I just wondered - does that mean that I will automatically get wireless connection to my broadband? So in effect wireless broadband? So no need to pay for a wireless modem?...

Don't worry it's not a daft question...

...and unless I'm read this question wrong...I think CAS possibly has ?

No you won't Automatically get Wireless connection to your Broadband...it depends whether you have a "Wireless" Base station/modem....

What modem have you got at the minute that connects you to the Internet ?

regards

Ric

Reaction score
Well I'm on a pc at the moment using AOL broadband. But that doesn't work with Macs so I am swapping to BT. I've read that I get Airport Extreme inbuilt into my new computer but, as I haven't got it yet, I wondered if that would enable me to get wireless broadband on a normal BT modem as apposed to using a wireless modem from BT :)

Reaction score