500 internal server error?

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by watt, May 3, 2014.

  1. watt

    watt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    shropshire uk
    I have recently changed my isp from sky to bt,mac desk top is working fine also a windows 8-1 laptop is also ok,but i have a macbook pro lap top and i pad that is not since i changed isp ,i can get on the internet but if i try to to get a web page i get the message/500 internal server error, what do i do please,i am new to macs.
    thank you,
    watt
     
    watt, May 3, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. watt

    oldscribe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Geneve & UK
    Hi,

    I was always under the impression that a 500 Internal Server Error was a server-side error, meaning the problem probably isn't with your Mac or iPad or Internet connection but instead is a problem with the web site's server.
    I would get a BT engineer out ASAP as it could also be how your open reach box has been configured.
    Also how many devices access the internet within the house as I believe 5 is the max.

    Have a look here
    https://community.bt.com/t5/Other-B...500-Internal-Server-Error/td-p/1079374/page/2
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2014
    oldscribe, May 4, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. watt

    watt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    shropshire uk
    Thanks for your input to my problem with 500 internal server error,i have since tried to get on the internet and it was working ok on all my devices,it took almost 2 days for the mac desktop to settle down,so apparently the bt broadband needs time to settle down,so all is fine now thank you.
    thanks again.
    watt
     
    watt, May 7, 2014
    #3
  4. watt

    oldscribe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Geneve & UK
    Hi,

    Good to hear.
     
    oldscribe, May 7, 2014
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.