Where did i go wrong ?

Reaction score
I had a sequence with rendered images. Problem was in fact, the sequence numbers started at 00002.
I decided to use Rename action to rename all files with new numbers starting with *1

Finally i get a complete mess in my folder. All files are now randomly disordered numbered from 1-650. Some of them are just the same copies, with different numbers.
Ex. Image previously was Number_00025 now are Number_00001, Number_00567, Number_000589 ...
Sequence ir completely lost. This vas a Image sequence of the video file.

Where did i go wrong?

Files was: 90ie_GALVA_00002 ... to _00651
I wanted to make them : 90ie_GALVA_00001 ... to _00650

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 13.15.24.jpg
    Screen Shot 2016-02-05 at 13.15.24.jpg
    217.6 KB · Views: 378

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

-Which version of OS X?
-Do you have a current Time Machine or other backup?

I am not very experienced with Automator. I actually use A Better Finder Rename to perform this service.

You may have to manually rename them, if you do not have a backup that you can restore from.

C

Reaction score
OS 10.10.5
I have a TimeMachine, but files were just created, so TM backup didn't backed them.

There is no way to rename them manually, cause many of them are now just duplicates, there is also no any way to recognize correct sequence manually. The only way is render it all again.

I'm just trying to understand, what i did wrong in Automator action ...

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Not sure what went wrong...the Automator flow looks correct to me.

If you click the disclosure triangle next to Rename Finder Items: Make Sequential completed - 648 warnings, does it give you more information about what the problem is/was?

C

Reaction score
I do not understand this in details, even it seems pretty easy - it is Renaming task, there is nothing to do with replacing existing files... Just take one file, give them another name and thats all.