Very old MacBook

Reaction score
Hi all!

I have very little iOS/Mac knowledge and I recently got given a MacBook (MacBook 4.1?) from a friend, the iOS version is 10.6.8.

I understand that most of the programs are no longer supported with the current build, is there any way I can upgrade it so I can at least use the app store or even install windows on it or is it just a lost cause?

Thanks in advance

Cory Cooper

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

That is a MacBook (13-inch, Early 2008) or MacBook (13-inch, Late 2008). Both are limited to a maximum of OS X Lion 10.7.5.

OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.8 should already have the App Store application in the Applications folder. It should also have Boot Camp Assistant in the Utilities folder, which supports up to Windows 7.

It may be tough to upgrade the MacBook to Lion, since it isn't available any longer in the App Store.

Hope that helps,

C

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.

That is a MacBook (13-inch, Early 2008) or MacBook (13-inch, Late 2008). Both are limited to a maximum of OS X Lion 10.7.5.

OS X Snow Leopard 10.6.8 should already have the App Store application in the Applications folder. It should also have Boot Camp Assistant in the Utilities folder, which supports up to Windows 7.

It may be tough to upgrade the MacBook to Lion, since it isn't available any longer in the App Store.

Hope that helps,

C

Thank you for your reply. The app store is on it but has a bar through the icon, safari doesnt even open on it so I think installkng windows is the way forward.

I'll keep this thread updated because no doubt I'll need more help!

Reaction score
So that didnt take long to bump into my first issue! I've tried to use boot camp assistant but came up with the error

"The startup.disk cannot be partitioned or restored to a single partition.

The startup disk must be formatted as a single Mac OS Extended (journaled) volume it already partitioned by Boot Camp Assistant for installing windows."