System software taking up too much space


Joined
Feb 14, 2018
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
I've recently just upgraded my macbook pro to one of the new models. I was previously using an early 2013 15 inch retina model, running OSX 10.11. I'm new to High Sierra, and although this may be a hardware issue, I think it's probably a software issue. I'd basically like to know why "system" is taking up 130 GB of space. I've only got the 500 GB SSD on my unit, and 130 in my opinion is way too much for the system to be taking up. See screenshots below:

Screen Shot 2018-03-10 at 11.38.41 AM.png
Screen Shot 2018-03-10 at 11.35.41 AM.png
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Nov 1, 2017
Messages
188
Reaction score
13
That does seem excessive. I've only got 41GB on my MBP with Sierra.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
4,855
Reaction score
237
Yeah, even with all my apps, on my Mac Mini running OS 10.13.3, I am only using about 75 gig (I have a 256 gig SSD), with 51.3 gig of that being taken up by "System Storage".
 

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
8,750
Reaction score
334
Hello,

My iMac shows as 107 GB, so your number isn't totally out of control.

-I see you have 64.45 GB in Music Creation - you added all the loops and instruments to GarageBand and/or Logic Pro X, correct?
-How much RAM is installed? If you have a lot, part of it will be the sleep image and temporary files.
-Did you use Migration Assistant from your old MBP to the new one?

C
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
4,855
Reaction score
237
Also, if you are using any third party applications, are they all compatible with OS 10.13.3? This link can help you with that:

https://roaringapps.com/apps

And you can do some disk cleanup/maintenance/repairs, from a software perspective. You can do a good amount of disk cleanup on your own, and there are some excellent programs available (both free and commercial) that can help you with those tasks.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top