porting mac osX to Dell 3000cn

Reaction score
Anyone know a workaround to port mac osX to Dell 3000cn printer wirelessly or otherwise? Using Linksys wireless. Dell claims only 3100 is compatable. Thanks!

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome,

I haven't been able to track down a driver for it yet !

Do you already have the printer or are you thinking of buying it ?

regards

Ric

Reaction score
Well. I already have the 3000cn. I am a PC power user and admin of a SOHO network, surrounded by mega PC power users, and have had the Dell for > 1 yr. It is a great printer. Got it for under 300.00 with a coupon code.
My wife uses macs at her office, and just got a mac os X wireless notebook for the house, where she jumps onto my linksys wireless system no prob.
Since I am very new to macs, i don't know beans here. I installed the X11 interface on her notebook so that I could install OpenOffice 2.0, and that went well. (I hate microsoft, so OpenOffice was the only answer ). I encourage all os X users to try OpenOffice...why send money to uncle bill?? The GUI of OO is *identical* to MS Office suite, you'd swear you were in Word, Excel, etc.
I thought with X11 on board there could be a workaround to link to the Dell....or some other third party solution...
Thanks... dave

Reaction score
PS...OpenOffice, which is free, will open all Microsoft files such as Word, Excel, and MS will open all OO files...complete 2-way compatibility...but you prob know this

Ric

Reaction score
Hi there,

thanks for that...Open Office installed here ! ;-)

Is the printer shared via XP or is it an ethernet printer ?

regards

Ric

Reaction score
Hope it is OK to post info from another forum, but I finally found how to connect to the Dell 3000cn!!!

Here is the page:

http://www.macosx.com/forums/showthread.php?t=264592

Although there are several solutions given, the only one that made sense to me was this one:

"Here are the steps i took to get the color printing working on a Dell 3000cn: