Photos duplicated? Both .jpg and .JPG copies.

Reaction score
Hey, everyone. I'm a newbie when it comes to my Macbook, and I've been raised on PCs all my life. Recently, the other person who uses my Macbook has pointed out something I can't figure out on my own: All the photos that have been put on the computer (it seems only the ones that were imported from a digital camera or other storage device) have been duplicated. The duplicates have the same name, as one photo would end in .jpg, whereas the other would be .JPG. The weird thing is, this never happened before, and even photos imported onto the computer from over a year ago have apparently duplicated. I have a feeling that she somehow fiddled with some sort of setting or something like that, but I'm stumped. I used a duplicate-file-finding application, and none of the "duplicates" it found were the ones I'm speaking of. I'm not sure what happened, but it would be nice to see only one of each photo, and prevent it from doing this in the future.

For anyone who's curious, I'm running OSX 10.6.8 on a Macbook from... 2009, I believe? (Sorry, I'm typing this from my desktop PC. If anybody needs more specifications, I'll gladly go look them up.)

Reaction score
Unless you have done something strange .jpg and .JPG are the same extension.

iPhoto makes a small thumbnail of each photo it stores, but you should never see them as the are stored away in the iPhoto Library.

There is nothing standard on a Mac that would do this, there are millions of Macs that have run 10.6.8 and I think if there was something that would do this it would have shown up before now.

Spawn_Dooley

Reaction score
Exactly where, are you seeing the duplicates? Within the iPhoto.app for example, in the library window?

Reaction score
It happens in the Finder, especially when I go to "All images". Never seemed to happen before recently. The below image demonstrates the issue.
Screen shot 2013-08-19 at 5.13.37 PM.png

Cory Cooper

Reaction score