Need to disable ability to empty trash on shared school Macs


Sandra Davie

New Member
Joined
Feb 21, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
We have a tech suite in which numerous students share multiple Macs throughout the day.

We have had several incidents where students have deleted others work by moving their folders to the trash, and then emptying the trash.

Is there a way to switch off the ability to empty the trash? Can't find anything in parental controls etc.

Many thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

Cory Cooper

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2004
Messages
6,944
Reaction score
242
Hello and welcome.

-Which models of Macs?
-What version of OS X?
-Do you have any MDM installed on them?
-Does each student have their own account?
-Are these local/shared accounts, or mobile accounts using Active/Open Directory?
-Which folders are they dragging to the Trash - the other students' Home folders - they shouldn't be able to do that?

C
 
Ad

Advertisements

Lufbrarunner

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2017
Messages
400
Reaction score
17
Which folders are they dragging to the Trash - the other students' Home folders - they shouldn't be able to do that?
My thoughts exactly.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top