Mac Search Engine

Reaction score
One of my hobbies is collecting news articles, formatting some of them into a presentable format, and putting them onto a political message board on the internet for discussion. Also, having such a stash of articles, I can refer to them when a discussion occurs about them. I have been doing this for around 15 years.

In doing so, I title documents, and folders that contain them, with relevant titles, like the following:

Politics/Corruption/Scandals

I have several hundred documents formatted the same, with a / between some of the words as separators. When searching for a document with the Mac search feature, and searching for a particular document containing a word as in the example, I would select Name Includes, and type in corruption, and several documents would appear with the word corruption in the title. Then, I could pick out the particular document that I wanted, select it in the window, and it would open, and I could peruse it. I have been doing it this way for several years. The documents are collected in the Microsoft Word format, some with Word 96, Word 2008, and now with Word 2017 on a new MacBook Pro Silver w/Sierra.

Some documents, title formatted like the example will open when selected, and some won't. I get a popup:

25833ht.png

If I change the separators to something other than a / I can open the document, like using : for a seperator. Or, I have found that with the path to the document listed at the bottom of the search system, I can locate the exact folder that the document is in, and bring that up, then drag the document out onto the Desktop, and then I can open it. Then, I have to be careful not to close this folder before I put the document back into it.

I am quite averse to going back through several hundred documents and changing the separators. Also, I am wondering why some of the documents will open, and some won't.