System Restore for MAC?

Reaction score
Hi, I am pretty new to macs. I have my first one right now and i keep running into a problem. I was trying to change my desktop theme, and every-time i got to that window, the system preferences program keeps closing and saying there is an error. Im not sure why this all of a sudden occurred. But it won't let me do anything before closing and Im beginning to get really frustrated. So i was wondering if i could do some kind of system restore, like on a p.c., to put it back to yesterdays settings, so that maybe i wouldn't have this problem anymore. or if there is something else i can do. i need help!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reaction score
Hi and welcome to Mac-Help
I am not too sure what you mean by "desktop theme", is it the desktop picture you want too change? If so go to /system preferences and click the desktop & screensaver tab if you then click the desktop tab you should be offered a selection of pictures. you can even add your iPhoto contents if you have one. I hope this is of some use to you.

Reaction score
yes....i know where to go to change the desktop theme. Desktop theme is a fancy way of saying wallpaper. But that is exactly the problem. When i go into system preferences, under desktop, system preferences automatically shuts down. and and error pops up. I THINK its because.....you know how it lets you select a folder of pictures to chose from. Well, i accidently selected a folder that probably has hundreds of files in it. and i think its confusing it. SO i wanted to know if i could do some kinda restore, to set it back to settings from a couple days ago when it was fine. Or if there was something else i can do to get this error to go away

Reaction score
Hi
I thought it was too simple. If you look in the main library on you hard drive (not the user library) There should be a folder called desktop pictures. make sure that is there because that is where the system looks.

Reaction score