Backup to server using Automator?

Reaction score
Has anyone had success setting up an Automator workflow which will automatically backup to a networked server? I've downloaded the 'backup folder' action and have also managed to get a workflow to connect to the server, but the solution still eludes me!

Any bright ideas anyone???

Ric

Reaction score
Hi,

I haven't used the "Backup Folder Action" myself but I shall download it and have a look...

From what to what are you backing up, if you see what I mean...

Mac to PC, Mac to Mac...

Are you trying to do a full Backup or just an Incremental Backup...

Regards

Ric

Reaction score
Thanks Ric, I'm trying to backup from a G5 to a networked linux server.

The backup action:
http://www.automatorworld.com/archives/backup-folders/

I'm new to Automator but surely this must be possible - I can already connect to the server using Get specified URL>Connect to specified server, but I'm not clear about how to set the rest up. I want to do an incremental backup (I assume this only replaces altered files), set up automatically via an iCal alarm (I've read this is the way to schedule it). It's a shame BackUp doesn't work with servers...

many thanks for the offer of help

Stan

Ric

Reaction score
Hi Stan,

First go to the source and check that you have the latest version.

If you download it from there you get a few Sample workflows and quite a good readme...

The way I read it...

1) Get Specified Server -Your Server

2) Connect to Server

3) Unlink Action 2 and 4 -very important !

4) Get Specified Finder Items (in here add in two folders-depending on what you set, the first will be the source "the folder to get backed up" and the second will be "where it gets backed up to")

5) Backup Folder Action

Just doing a quick video aid...

regards

Ric

Ric

Reaction score
Hi Stan,

watch the movie, here

Depending on how you set up your keychain the Server request...etc shouldn't show, have left them in for visual puposes...